Homestays

Would you like to stay in our home to improve your English? You would learn English with Robert in the mornings and, after a home-cooked lunch, would be able to explore Morecambe Bay. It is a very beautiful area. Nearby, we have the Arnside and Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It's possible to go there by train or to travel by car with Mary.

Morecambe is a sea-side holiday resort with a variety of activities happening during the year. It has a good sandy beach and plenty of cafes and bars. The views across the bay to the hills of the Lake District are wonderful. It is exhilarating to walk along the promenade or to ride in a bus or car to see the views.

The village of Heysham is next to Morecambe. It has the ruins of an old chapel, St. Patrick's, which date from the 8th or 9th century. The walk from our house to old Heysham village along the promenade is very tranquil, with the delightful sound of sea-birds to accompany you.

Robert has helped over 40 foreign students who have been with us on homestays to learn English. The youngest students we have had were two 18 year-old girls, one German, the other Spanish. The oldest student who has stayed with us was a 62-year-old Japanese lady who wanted to work as a tourist guide. In between these, we have had many people in their 20s, 30s, 40s and 50s from Japan, Spain, the Czech Republic, France, Italy, Poland and Switzerland. Most people stay for two or three weeks but some stay a month or just a week.

Students who stay with us have all their meals provided. The number of hours of teaching each week is by arrangement. Most people want 15 or 20 hours a week, i.e. 3 or 4 hours a day from Monday to Friday. We will take you out with us two or three times a week, and on the other days you are free to study or to get to know the area. The student room is a small double. We have a separate lounge and dining-room which you are free to use if no lesson is taking place. (We teach school-children after school too.) Our kitchen and bathroom are both a good size and the bathroom has a separate bath and shower. At the back of our house is a paved garden where you can sit when the weather is warm.